If It Ain’t Broke…

In my last post, I renewed my interest in Linux. And I did install Ubuntu (with a Cinnamon skin for that Windows familiarity) as a dual boot partition on my main laptop. Unfortunately, it broke everything. Everything.

Ubuntu was working great and I had a little fun playing around. Inevitably, I needed to head back to Windows 10 for some other work. And that’s when I found out it now takes an age to boot.

So I waited the ten or so minutes for it to boot. I probably should have tried fixing the issue there and then – something to do with Windows’ new UEFI boot manager – but I left it. Soon enough, Windows just wouldn’t boot anymore.

Fortunately, Ubuntu was still working so I could recover all my files (i.e. loads of pictures of my kid). A clean install of Windows 10 and I’m back in business. I quite liked the Windows 10 installation process actually. It was fairly quick and Cortana talked to me which was a bit of fun. Before that, installing Windows XP was a grind.

I’ve decided that a single OS keeps things simple. The lesson that I find myself learning on many occasions in life, “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it”.

20170509-alfie
One of the Rescued Images

 

2 thoughts on “If It Ain’t Broke…

  1. [ Smiles ] I am a Linux user. My distribution of Linux is, Linux Mint.

    Now, I will not recommend dual booting, because in rare instances, one of the operating systems becomes messed up.

    However, you could try using your chosen distribution of Linux on a separate computer; that way, you would have your favourite Windows 10 safe from chaos.

    Linux is good and it should not be erased from the equation.

    Like

Leave a comment